University Policies Committee (UPC)

Committee Chair

Jennifer Maguire

Department of Social Work


Ex-officio (non-voting)

Christine Mata

Interim Dean of Students - Designee for Student Affairs


Ex-officio (non-voting)

Douglas Dawes

Vice President for Administrative Affairs


Faculty Representative

Troy LescherDepartment of Theater, Film, and Dance2021

Faculty Representative

John Meyer

Department of Politics


Staff Representative (non-MPP)

Robert Keever

Academic & Career Advising 2021
Student RepresentativeLindsey GraulAssociated Students2019
Committee Chair - one faculty senator elected by the Senate
Two faculty members - appointed by the Appointments and Elections Committee
One non-MPP staff member  - appointed by Staff Council
One student - appointed by Associated Students
Vice President, Student Affairs (or designee) - non-voting Ex-officio member
Vice President, Administrative Affairs (or designee) - non-voting Ex-officio member
The elected and appointed members shall serve staggarded 3-year terms except the commitee chair who shall serve a 1-year term and the student member, who shall serve a 1-year term.
The Committee is charged with reviewing the existing policy processes on campus and recommending to the Senate for its approval a policy process that address the campus need for a transparent, efficient, and clear policy process rooted in principles of shared governance.  See Senate Bylaws, section 11.8