HUMBOLDT STATE UNIVERSITY University Senate

Resolution to Clarify Term Lengths for Constitution & Bylaws Committee Members #03-13/14-CBC - October 1 - First Reading

RESOLVED: That the University Senate of Humboldt State University amend the *University Senate of Humboldt State University Bylaws and Rules of Procedure* as follows (insertions underlined and deletions indicated by strike-out):

- 11.61 **Chair:** The Chair of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee shall be a senator, elected during the regular annual election within the Senate, for a one-year term.
- 11.62 **Membership**: The membership of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee shall be as follows:
 - Chair of the Committee (elected by the Senate)
 - Three (3) Faculty members, appointed by the Appointments and Elections Committee
 - One (1) non-MPP Staff member, appointed by Staff Council
 - One (1) Student member, appointed by Associated Students.

The Senate Parliamentarian, appointed annually by the Senate Executive Committee, shall also serve on the Committee. Any member of the Committee (listed above) may also serve as Senate Parliamentarian, or the Parliamentarian may be an additional member of the Committee.

11.63 **Terms:** Elected and appointed members shall serve 2two-year terms except the committee chair as stated above and the student member, who shall serve a one-year term.

and be it further;

RESOLVED: that this change be applied to the current year once approved.

RATIONALE: This change is to reconcile the discrepancy with the chair's term in sections 11.61 and 11.63 and to make the student term consistent with most other Senate committees.